Black Panther (2018)

Runtime:  134 min

Rating: Rated PG-13 for prolonged sequences of action violence, and a brief rude gesture

Production: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Genres: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Drama

Release Date: February 16, 2018 (USA) 

Budget: $200,000,000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend USA: $202,003,951, Feb. 16, 2018Wide Release

Gross USA: $699,468,354, june 14, 2018

Cumulative Worldwide Gross: $1,345,957,018, 

Director: Ryan Coogler

 

Black Panther stars
Andy Serkis as Ulysses Klaue/Klaw 
Angela Bassett as Ramonda
Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa/Black Panther
Danai Gurira as Okoye
Daniel Kaluuya as W’Kabi
Forest Whitaker as Zuri
Letitia Wright as Shuri
Lupita Nyong’o as Nakia
Martin Freeman as Everett K. Ross
Michael B. Jordan as Erik Killmonger
Stan Lee as Principal Cast
Sterling K. Brown as N’Jobu
Winston Duke as M’Baku
Black Panther is a Visual masterpiece, amazing costume design, CGI brings this comic book character to life with amazing imagery. Chadwick Boseman nails it as the central character Black Panther. The character must share ample time with green screen and other major battle scenes with Michael B. Jordan as Erick Killmonger his main rival.

Wakanda is the home for T’Challa son of the slain king T’Chaka, who must take his rightful place leading his country. The council is a tribal group who advises and provides the backdrop to ensure the country remains strong.

The areas where there is a certain amount of leverage in any comic book movies is the dialogue. At times I had trouble understanding what was being said. It also seemed to show the same close ups of the tribal council over and over as well as the ritual to become the Black Panther. It was tedious to watch and seemed like it was unnecessary. The action sequences made this worth the wait as the loyal Wakanda people battled the other factions led by Erik Killmonger changes the landscape to change the Vibrairum rich Wakanda to move to the entire world and kill all those who oppose.

In summary great action movie with great scenery and a wonderful cast. Was it the best super hero movie no but am looking forward to the next. Keep pushing the envelope.

I give it a *** out of ***** 
Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 8.2 out of 10
Metacritic gives it a Metascore 88 out of 100
IMDB gives it a 7.5 out of 10
Advertisements

Marmaduke (2010)

Genres: Comedy,Family

Rated PG for some rude humor and language

Budget: $50,000,000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend USA: $11,599,661

Gross USA: $33,644,788

Cumulative Worldwide Gross: $89,895,930

Production Co: Twentieth Century Fox

Country: USA

Language: English

Release Date: 4 June 2010 (USA)

Director: Tom Dey

Marmaduke Stars

Judy Greer as Debbie Winslow

Lee Pace as Phil Winslow

Owen Wilson as Marmaduke

Caroline Sunshine as Barbara Winslow

Christopher Mintz-PlasseGiuseppe

Damon Wayans Jr. as Thunder

Emma Stone as Mazie

Finley Jacobsen as Brian Winslow

George Lopez as Carlos

Kiefer Sutherland as Bosco

Marlon Wayans as Lightning

Raugi Yu as Drama Trainer

Sam Elliott as Chupadogra

Stacy Ferguson as Jezebel

Steve Coogan as Raisin

 

If you ever read the comic stripes in the Sunday paper as a kid you know the story of Marmaduke, the world’s most lovable Great Dane, leaps from comic strip fame to big screen stardom. In this family comedy event, the “Duke” is living large in Orange County, California. But fitting in with his new four-legged friends and a potential romantic interest isn’t always easy for a super-sized teenage dog.

In short, the CGI talking dogs was done extremely well, even carrying on through nuances found in most dogs head-tilts, twitches, etc. Typical past CGI attempts practically demanded that the subject remain still while the effects are applied. So, I have to give very high marks to the special effects. The Marmaduke character is very likable as are most of the ensemble here. The story is predictable but I had a fairly good time and even found the humor to be occasionally very funny from a dog-oriented viewpoint. I truly didn’t expect much from this but ended up liking it quite a bit. Having said that I will say that I enjoyed it once and will probably never watch it again, but I believe kids 5 to 12 would enjoy it quite a bit. I also thinks adults will like it really well too.

I give it 3.5 out of 5

IMDB gives it a 4.5 out of 10

Metacridic gives a Metascore of 30 out of 100

Rotten Tomadoes gives it a 3.2 out of 10

 

 

 

Cleaner (2008)

Runtime: 88 min

Rating: Rated R for bloody images, some violence and language

Production: Millennium Films

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Crime

Country: USA

Language: English

Home Release Date: May 27, 2008

Director: Renny Harlin

Written By: Matthew Aldrich

Cleaner Stars

Ed Harris as Eddie Lorenzo      Eva Mendes as Ann Norcut

Luis Guzmán as Det. Jim Vargas      Samuel L. Jackson as Tom Cutler

Edrick Browne as Det. Darrin Harris     James Barnes as Lawyer

Jose Pablo Cantillo as Miguel     KeKe Palmer as Rose Cutler   

Linda Leonard as Francine Mason       Maggie Lawson as Cherie

Marc Macaulay as Vic

 

        Cleaner is a who done it kind of movie, Tom Cutler has a secret that he’s hiding from his daughter, and a few other cops know the secret that he is hiding. He also has stumbled into a mystery that he never knew he stumbled into.

       Ed Harris shows some good acting in this movie, and he is very convencing in his part. Eva Mendes does an ok job this isn’t really one of her best movies, it’s kinda like she just wanted to get the movie done. Samuel L. Jackson does a pretty good job in this movie, but at times it’s kinda hard to get behind his character. He kinda seems like he really didn’t believe in this movie.

       Cleaner sets its self up to be a great movie, but it turns out to be a ok movie. If you like who done it kinda movies then you may like this movie, but don’t expect to much from this movie. The story is good, but just the acting, and how it played out was a little disappointing. If you’re a big Ed Harris fan then you’ll like this film. Over all this is a movie that could be watched if there isn’t anything on tv.

 

I give cleaner a 2 out of 5 stars

Rotten tomatos give a 4.3 out of 10

Metacritic gives a Metascore of 49 out of 100

Imdb gives a 6.1 ut of 10

 

 

 

 

Beauty And The Beast (2017)

Director— Bill Condon 

In Theaters:   Wide

On Disc/Streaming: 

Box Office: $503,974,884

Runtime: 

Studio: Walt Disney Pictures

Beauty and The Beast Stars

Emma Watson  as Belle

Dan Stevens (IV)  as Beast/Prince

Luke Evans  as Gaston
Kevin Kline  as Maurice
Josh Gad  as Le Fou
Ewan McGregor  as Lumiere
Stanley Tucci  as Cadenza
Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Plumette
Audra McDonald  as Garderobe
Ian McKellen  as Cogsworth
Emma Thompson  as Mrs. Potts
Beauty and The Beast (2017)
           This 2017 live version of Beauty and The Beast stayes almost accurate to the 1991 Walt Disney cartoon version, but adds a few different branches to this story. We know the story belle meets beast and they fall in love, and live happily ever after. They keep the songs intacted, and through one or two new songs in to this movie. 
            Emma Watson is a very believable belle with her acting skills, and her innoccent appeal. Dan Stevens (IV) makes a great beast. Luke Evens makes a great gaston, and Emma Thompson plays Mrs. Potts great.
             This version of Beauty and The Beast is good, but at 2 hours and 9 minutes it starts to drag a little at the end. Watson, and Stevens (IV) help this movie out with their acting skills, and the supporting cast helps out too. The visual effects is pretty good with all the background colors and lighting. I know the original movie has a lot of singing in it, but this version seems like it has a lot more. If you like the cartoon version you will probably like this version of the movie too.
I give Beauty and The Beast– 3.2/5
IMDB– 7.2/10 
Mediacritic Metascore– 65/100 
Rotten Tomato– 6.7/10
 

A Time To Kill (1996)

Director:  Joel Schumacher           

Production company:  Regency Enterprises 

Distributed by:  Warner Bros.      

Release date:  July 24, 1996

Running time:  149 minutes         

Budget:  $40 million  

Box office$152 million

A Time To Kill Stars

Samuel L. Jackson as Carl Lee Hailey     

Matthew McConaughey as Jake Brigance

Kevin Spacey as Rufus Buckley               

Sandra Bullock as Ellen Roark

Oliver Platt as Harry Rex Vonner           

Kiefer Sutherland as Freddie Lee Cobb

Donald Sutherland as Lucien Wilbanks

          There are several key characters in the movie they are:

Jake Brigance: The young up and coming lawyer

Carl Lee Hailey: The man on trial

Ellen Roark: A law clerk that came down to Mississippi for the trial

Harry Rex Vonner: A sleazy divorce lawyer

Rufus Buckley: The D.A. trying the case

Lucien Wilbanks: The washedup/alcoholic mentor of Jake

Freddie Lee Cobb: The revenge seeking brother

          “Can a black man receive a fair trial in the new south?” This is the question that is asked and hinted throughout the movie A Time To Kill. The movie is set in Canton,Mississippi, and we can assume the movie is set in the ’90s, but with the mindset and attitude of the ‘50s or 60’s. 

          Director Joel Schumacher takes us on a very racial southern attitude back in the ‘50s and 60’s ride. when we first meet Jake Brigance he is a struggling lawyer that hasn’t had much experience as a lawyer until the case of Carl Lee Hailey lands in his hands literally, and with the help of Roark, Vonner, and Wilbanks Jake may just win the case if it doesn’t get him killed first by Freddie Lee Cobb and the KKK.

           When I first herd of the movie A Time To Kill I wasn’t sure if I wanted to watch it because of the racial tone of the movie but I was sure glad I did because this movie is one of the better versions of John Grishams’ books even with all the racial tones in the movie. This movie will tug at your heart by taking you on an emotional ride with heartbreak, anger, sadness, and then extreme joy. So “can a black man receive a fair trail in the new south?” you will have to watch it to find out the answer.

I give the movie A Time To Kill 5 Stars out of 5 stars

IMDB gives a  7.4/10

Rotten Tomatos gives a  6.1/10

Metracritic gives a Metascore of 54/100

 

Life As We Know It (2010)

 

Directed by Greg Berlanti
Production
company
  • Village Roadshow Pictures
  • Gold Circle Films
  • Josephson Entertainment
Distributed by Warner Bros.
Release date
  • October 8, 2010
Running time
115 minutes
Country United States
Language English
Budget $38 million
Box office $105.7 million

Life As We Know It Stars

  • Katherine Heigl as Holly Berenson
  • Josh Duhamel as Eric Messer
  • Josh Lucas as Dr. Sam Nelson
  • Hayes MacArthur as Peter Novak
  • Christina Hendricks as Alison Novak
  • Jessica St. Clair as Beth
  • Melissa McCarthy as DeeDee
  • Sarah Burns as Janine Groff
  • Faizon Love as Walter
  • Will Sasso as Josh
  • DeRay Davis as Lonnie
  • Wilbur Fitzgerald as Peter’s dad
  • Jean Smart as Holly’s mother (uncredited)
  • Brooke, Brynn and Alexis Clagett (the “Clagett Triplets”) as Sophie Christina Novak
    • Brooke and Kiley Liddell as older Sophie
  • Markus Flanagan as Chef Phillipe
  • Kumail Nanjiani as Simon

 

Life as we know it (2010)

        Josh Duhamel and Katherine Heigl fuse really well together in this romantic-comedy heartwarming story, about two people that hate each other end up being named guardians to a baby girl, when their mutual best friends die in a car crash.

       Life As We Know is funny at times, but sad at others, it will make you appreciate your best friends a lot more after you watch this movie. This is the kind of storytelling that takes you through an emotional roller coaster, and leave you feeling good about watching this movie.

      When we first see Messer and Holly their going out on a date, and then the rest of the movie we see them trying to cope with the loss of their best friends, and trying to raise sophie together. While trying to get along, and trying to live their own lives. All throughout the movie they try to figure out what they mean to each other.

       In closing when my girlfriend wanted to see this movie, I thought great another boring romantic movie. To my surprise this movie was pretty good, and the story played out really well. This is the type of movie that really kinda hits home, because we all have a friend or friends that has kids, and we all wonder what could happen if something happens to them.
I give Life As We Know It  5 stars out of 5 stars

IMDB gives a  6.6/10 

Rotten Tomatos gives a  4.6/10

Metacritic gives a Metascore 39/100

The World According To Garp (1982)

 

Directed by George Roy Hill
Production
company
Warner Bros.
Pan Arts
Distributed by Warner Bros.
Release date
  • July 23, 1982
Running time
136 minutes
Country United States
Language English
Budget $17 million
Box office $29,712,172

The World According To Garp Stars

  • Robin Williams as T.S. Garp
    • James “J.B.” McCall as young Garp
  • Mary Beth Hurt as Helen Holm
  • Glenn Close as Jenny Fields
  • John Lithgow as Roberta Muldoon
  • Hume Cronyn as Mr. Fields
  • Jessica Tandy as Mrs. Fields
  • Swoosie Kurtz as The Hooker
  • Peter Michael Goetz as John Wolf
  • Mark Soper as Michael Milton
  • Warren Berlinger as Stew Percy
  • Brandon Maggart as Ernie Holm
  • Amanda Plummer as Ellen James
  • Jenny Wright as Cushie (Steering School)

     

       The 1982 movie The World According To Garp, is a funny yet sad movie. Based on the best-selling novel by John Irving, here is the big screen equivalent of a good read. Robin Williams almost plays it down, but thoroughly shines in the title role as T.S.Garp in this, his first proper feature film.

       This is an amazingly rare look at a story that revolves around happiness, sadness, heartbreak, love, and all the other natural emotions that this young,up and coming novelist experiences throughout his far from normal existence that culminates in a dark satire on many comical situations.

       Some great moments to be had including a great performance from John Lithgow as the transsexual ex-football player who befriends Garp and his worldly renowned women’s lib Mother played brilliantly by Glenn Close in her film debut.

      You’ll laugh… especially at the way Garp was conceived and to find out what his initials T.S. actually stand for. You’ll rejoice… at the moment when Garp finds out he is to become a father for the first time. You’ll cry many times of laughter and sadness. Williams, Close, and Lithgow gelled great together.

      This movie has got to be one of the most underrated film of the 1980’s, and being one of Robin Williams’ first major movie projects. So if you have never seen The World According To Garp you really should, because it’ll take you on an emotional ride through laughter and sadness.
I give The World According To Garp 4 1/2 stars out of 5 stars

IMDB gives 7.2/10

Rotten Tomato 6.3/10 

 

Let Me In (2010)

Let Me In stars

  • Kodi Smith-McPhee as Owen
  • Chloe Grace Moretz as Abby
  • Richard Jenkins as Thomas
  • Cara Buono as Owen’s mother.
  • Elias Koteas as a detective
  • Sasha Barrese as Virginia
  • Dylan Minnette as Kenny
  • Ritchie Coster as Mr. Zorić
  • Jimmy Jax Pinchak as Mark
  • Nicolai Dorian as Donald
  • Colin Moretz as Cashier
  • Dylan Kenin as Larry
  • Brett DelBuono as Jimmy
  • Chris Browning as Jack

 

        The 2010 remake of Let Me In is a very interesting movie it doesn’t only depend on horror it also uses good story telling to tell a story about a boy named Owen, and the night he meets Abby a very strange girl. That night she gives Owen some great advice “hit the bully harder than he hits you, and he will leave you alone”.

      Owen and Abby interact throughout the movie talking, and getting to know each other. Then everything starts to unravel for Abby, when the bodies start to pile up, and questions start being asked about her.

      Let Me In is a great movie that takes you on a ride of horror, and then brings you back to a very interesting ending. it is also one of those kinda movies that make you feel sorry for the two main characters as their lives start to spin out of control, and trying to keep Abbys’ secret.

I give Let Me In– 4 1/2 stars out of 5 stars

Rotten Tomato– 7.6/10

Metacritic– Metascore 79/100

IMDB– 7.1/10

My new blog

        Scott’s Movie Review is a blog about movies that I have seen, and giving my review, and my opinion on the movies. Also make sure to leave a comment, I hope you’ll find the reviews helpful, and want to watch the movies I review. Please follow us on facebook at www.facebook.com/scottsmoviereview and twitter at //twitter.com/scott_review

  • Rules For This Page
  • NO BULLYING
  • Respect everyones opinion